KCACTF 2016

This past week, I attended the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) with East Stroudsburg University’s theater department. The festival was hosted by West Chester University, where I watched three plays and attended three movement workshops. Two of my fellow ESU students were selected to attend Nationals in Washington D.C. for technical theater.

badge

The first play I watched was “Argonautika.” It is a comedy that follows the story of Jason and the Argonauts in Greek mythology, which is one of my major interests.

I also watched “Neighborhood 3: Requisition of Doom” and “The Bacchae.” I was quite disappointed in both of these plays. The first because it seemed unfinished with many plot holes and the latter because it was more like a poem recitation than a play.

The workshops I attended were on Russian droznin movement, tai chi and Broadway dance. The Broadway dance workshop was the most informative, especially because I am considering a career in dance.

At the KCACTF closing ceremony, I cried tears of joy for two of my classmates when it was announced that they would attend nationals for stage management and sound design.

kca win 1
Me (center) with Becky (left) and David (right). Becky is attending Nationals for stage management and David for sound design.

I can easily say the festival was a success for ESU and I cannot wait to incorporate what I learned in the workshops into my performances.

 

Leave a Reply

